Crystals & Yoga are often used as vehicles to unlock our chakras

Lachlan Cornell

Originating from Sanskrit, it literally means “wheel” by association with its function as a vortex of spinning energy interacting with various physiological and neurological systems in the body.

Chakras are energy centres within the human body that help to regulate all its processes, from organ function to the immune system and emotions. There are 7 chakras positioned throughout your body, from the base of your spine to the crown of your head. Each chakra has its own ‘vibrational frequency’, that is depicted through a specific chakra colour, and governs specific functions that help make you, well, human.

Root Chakra – Red

Located at the base of the coccyx, this chakra is associated with the earth. It relates to our innate survival and animal instincts – our need for food, water air and shelter and how our bodies interact with nature.

Sacral Chakra – Orange

Located between the pubic bone and above the navel, the sacral chakra is associated with the element of water and home to what we call our ‘sense of self’. This chakra creates the energy of creativity, sexuality, playfulness, joy and desire.

Solar Plexus Chakra – Yellow

Located in the naval and associated with the element of fire. It controls our deepest desires and the motivation and passion that controls them. From a physiological sense, it controls our digestion, turning food into energy for the body.

Heart Chakra – Green

This chakra is located in the centre of our chest and governs our heart, lungs and arms. It is associated with the element of air. It creates feelings of love, compassion and forgiveness. This chakra is the meeting point of physical and spiritual, our arms act as this bridge, connecting with others through a hug or handshake.

Throat Chakra – Blue

The throat chakra is located at the base of the throat, governing our mouth, neck, ears and jaw. It is associated with space or ether. Think of this chakra as a palace of communication – when it is open we communicate clearly and with integrity and meaning. It also controls our thyroid which balances our hormones and immune system, keeping them both healthy.

Third Eye Chakra – Indigo

Probably the most well-known chakra, the Third Eye chakra is located between the eyebrows and seems to be a popular topic when discussing psychedelic drugs. It’s associated with intuition, wisdom, intellect and knowledge. If this chakra is open you may be more susceptible to lucid dreaming and feel calmer in the inevitable uncertainty of life and the future.

Crown Chakra – Violet

Also known as the thousand-petaled lotus that rests on the seat of the head. This chakra connects us to a divine source, God or universal consciousness. When this chakra is open we feel the flow of energy fill our body and connect us to all other beings on this planet. At the seed of this chakra, we learn that we are pure consciousness, interconnected and essentially all one. Monks such as Zen Buddhist and Taoist monks come to mind when having the crown chakra open and aware which ironically means they are waning and yielding to the unfathomable cosmos.

Lachlan Cornell
Freelance Writer